Watchco 300 Omega 552 movement stopped after hand-winding

I have a Watchco Seamaster 300 with 552 movement that I've owned for 11 years. It's worked fine for years. I had the movement checked and adjusted by a professional watchmaker a a few years ago.

Today, I hand wound the movement as I haven't worn it in a couple of days. When hand winding it, I heard a "snap" and the movement no longer runs.

Any thoughts on what may be the issue?

The stem works and can be pulled out to the winding and setting position. The hands move freely when setting the time by turning the crown both backwards and forwards. And the movement makes the normal clicking winding sound when the crown is turned in the winding position.

I just doesn't run. If I pull the crown all the way out to the setting position, and turn the crown slightly counter clockwise, the second hand ticks for about 5 seconds and then stops.

Thoughts?

Mainspring busted. Cheap and easy fix.

It's possible that the mainspring has snapped, probably close to the arbor. Therefore no power can be transmitted to the train.

Does anyone know the correct OEM replacement mainspring part number/s for the 552 movement?

You said that you had a watchmaker “check and adjust it” a few years ago. That typically is NOT a full service, merely to check it on a timing machine and adjust the balance cock to bring it back into a better rate. Since you’ve had the watch for 11 years (who knows when that movement was last fully serviced), I’d have a full service and not just replace the mainspring.

My dollar is on a busted mainspring too. Just take it to any competent watchmaker.

Does anyone know the correct OEM replacement mainspring part number/s for the 552 movement?

72205501208 | MAINSPRING