Forums Latest Members
  1. ezyddlb Jun 9, 2020

Greetings everyone.
    IMG_20200608_132304.jpg
    I've got a 1960s omega sea master (automatic and date) which I have loved owning for the past year or so.

However in the past 3 months it has started to gain time and would occasionally stop, only to restart with a 'tap' on the face. It has now stopped completely.

I am a reasonably accomplished mechanic, but I am a total novice with watches. In my ignorance I thought I'd have a look to see what I can see.

The mainspring is still functional and was fully wound (I unwound it). If I apply very light pressure to the second hand gears (I'm aware that my technical vocab is lacking) , the watch will tick nicely. It seems that power is not being transfered from the spring to the rest of the mechanism.

I realise I probably am wholly unqualified for this task. But if anyone had a recommendation of a part to check, or where to look, I'd be very grateful. I'm keen to learn.

By way of introduction, hello to the forum and thanks for all the info compiled here.

David

Edited Jun 9, 2020
  2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Jun 9, 2020

[​IMG]

DaveK likes this.
  3. ezyddlb Jun 9, 2020

Thanks that's cleared it up.

Although i hasten to add its back together

4. ChrisN Jun 9, 2020

Well done for letting down the mainspring to release the torque before taking the train bridge off.

Unfortunately, the issue could be one of many things and you really need a watchmaker to look at it. You can't just take a few parts off and see what might make it work again and, even if you get it going, the parts will be dirty and wearing themselves out. The best way is to ask here for a watchmaker in your area who can strip/clean/inspect/lubricate/rebuild your movement. Don't try and put it back together as I can see that you have at least one wheel misplaced and you'll likely cause damage.

Good luck, Chris

5. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Jun 9, 2020