Forums Latest Members

Question about winding / letting movement stop

1. SunTiger May 28, 2020

Greetings everyone! I hope everyone is coping well with this mess of a pandemic. Granted watches are probably the last thing I should be concerned about at a time like this.. but, on the other hand is a perfect distraction :)

Anyway.. 10 years ago I got my Omega Sea-master Automatic as my wedding gift.

[​IMG]

This has been my most favorite thing that I own and so far I have kept in in great condition. I am still on the fence about sending in for service (scared to have someone tear it apart when its working perfect as is) and I posted this very question on another forum and got 50/50 responses on that one. (some would send it in.. and some way to wait till there is an issue). At any rate, I wanted to ask a new question and get some thoughts.

I have worn this watch daily for the first several years. Tho, the past year or maybe a little more has had less time on the wrist. So, it sits in an "official Omega winder" I remember when I bought this.. I thought "$700! my god" The reason is has sat in the winder for a bit is because last year I totally revamped my fitness.. and have been wearing the Garmin watch for that. Tho, now I have a better handle on what I am doing I dont feel I need to wear it everyday (unless in activity) so this is great as I can wear my Omega now for the bulk of the day.