No Extract Available - How Much Less is it Worth?

I have had a late sixties Seamaster 300 for a few years now and after getting the lume on the hour hand fixed, I was thinking of moving it on. I ordered an Extract and it couldn't be produced - the serial number was for another watch.

20210506_221938.jpg

I didn't do a whole lot of research prior to the purchase, but nothing strikes me as indicating it could be a later put-together. Tritium dial, hands and bezel corresponding to a later issued watch and match each other.

So what is the value of one of these? The value doesn't plummet as much as an Military version with a wrong movement, I know that. Apart from the movement, I have a hard time finding faults with the condition.

Could this be a WatchCo piece? I know they used "new" parts, but maybe this is a mix of their "best" parts

I am no expert on these but at a guess that the value would be around that of a put together WatchCo type. The chances are from what you say it is not and has suffered the fate of a movement swap at some stage possibly due to the economics of repair prevailing one option over another. Let's be honest (for example) 45 years ago who would think it would matter or that these would have the value they do today in original configuration. Yours does have the appeal of period charm and patina that could have some influence on the price someone would pay. Good luck!!!

Geez, on top of everything else, he openly shares his disappointments? If he weren't already married... :rolleyes:

Geez, on top of everything else, he openly shares his disappointments? If he weren't already married... :rolleyes: