Forums Latest Members

My Speedy 3861 gains 4+ secs a day

1. Seti_i May 1, 2022

I got a new Speedmaster 3861 Sapphire which is gaining 4.5 + seconds per day. In the METAS certification test the result for my watch is 3.2. Does anybody know if this is normal or the possible cause? At the same time I also got a Seiko Samurai King that is in the +-1 seconds per day range for less than 1/10 the money which is very frustrating.

2. Dan S May 1, 2022

Congrats, it sounds like you are within METAS standards. Timekeeping will vary a bit in different positions and conditions, so it all sounds fine to me. Welcome to OF, enjoy your watches, and save your frustration for things that matter. :thumbsup:

3. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member May 1, 2022

+4.5 is fine, and within spec. There is accuracy and regulation, accuracy is how consistent it is, so a watch that is +4.5 every day is more accurate than a watch that is +1 one day and -1 another. Regulation is effectively the offset, and can be easily adjusted but to meet Omegas standards is cannot be negative and must be positive. This is because a watch that is fast can easily be corrected once every week or two by simply hacking it until it matches atomic time again, while a watch that is slow has to be set forward by a minute or more before then hacking, which is a slower and more frustrating process.

noelekal, Raym0016, rob#1 and 3 others like this.
  4. Doc Olives May 1, 2022

It is in the standards, but I also hear you that it’s a brand new watch with Chronometre+ standards, and you were expecting a little more. Been there…

If it really bothers you, I would try to find a position that the watch loses time in, and just store it in that position overnight. Could be you end up at +/- 0 if you find the right position :thumbsup:

chipotlefire and Seti_i like this.
  5. Seti_i May 1, 2022

Wise words
    Wise words. Thanks.

SpikiSpikester and Dan S like this.
  6. Seti_i May 1, 2022

Thanks for your advise.