My - learning - experience buying a Speedmaster 145.012

Dear OF

This will be a longer post with lots of pictures, apologies in advance.

I'd like to share my recent learning experience buying a vintage Speedmaster Pro 145.012 on local auction site. As the title implies, I'm not an expert and had to consult several seasoned Speedy collectors before bidding on the auction. The great thing about OF is, once you've done your homework i.e. prior research yourself, more experienced members are happy to help you reach the next level and/or make a better informed decision.

The assessment, both my own as well as the senior members', that finally led me to pull the trigger shouldn't stay in the dark, but may be useful for other aspiring purchasers of a 145.012. At least there will be another pictorial example, if all the background story, bores you. Hence this thread.

Let's first look at the seller's pictures, which are rather poor, but caught my interest, because if everything is correct with the watch, I thought perhaps competition would be lower.

The first step for me was to perform a basic hardware check to rule out an obvious Frankenwatch using the Moonwatch Only book, speedmaster101.com and of course examples on OF as resources and reference points.
- Movement serial number: Though not clearly legible, it's for sure a higher 24mil number putting it at the rather early end of the movement range for a 145.012.
- Hands: Correct hands, the chrono sweep hand with the drop shaped end is correct for the earlier 145.012
- Correct dial
- DON bezel
- Crown is a later replacement, but I don't mind.
- As for the pushers, I wasn't sure (but learnt later that the replacement would look exactly the same as the original)
- The bracelet is a correct 1039, but as opposed to the correct 516 it comes with 16 end links. I (wrongly) assumed them to be identical or interchangeable (like the 70 and 570 end links for the BoR bracelets).
So for me, it passed the first basic check.