Forums Latest Members

Is this a solid 1960's Constellation? [Newbie asking for help]

1. kalingwu Oct 26, 2019

Hi all,

I am a newbie and am looking to buy a decent mint vintage Omega. I recently came across this Constellation and I am very tempted. Price-wise, I think it is definitely being quite marked up by the seller, but given my lack of experience I am willing to pay the mark up. However, I want to make sure this is a solid Constellation and not a fake or a Frankenstein watch.

According to the seller, the case is unpolished and the dial is also original. Do you think this is true to its description?

I believe this is the page from the Omega Achieve corresponding to the watch:
    https://www.omegawatches.com/watch-omega-constellation-omega-ck-14381

Any input will be greatly appreciated!

Screen Shot 2019-10-27 at 12.01.46 AM.png Screen Shot 2019-10-27 at 12.02.22 AM.png Screen Shot 2019-10-27 at 12.04.05 AM.png Screen Shot 2019-10-27 at 12.04.17 AM.png Screen Shot 2019-10-27 at 12.04.28 AM.png

Brisco likes this.
  2. cristos71 Oct 26, 2019

It looks good to me apart from the incorrect crown and scratches on the case back. I guess how good it is depends on the price?

3. Noddyman Oct 26, 2019

Sellers often claim their watches are unpolished (and serviced) so please take these statements with a pinch of salt. The crown is a later service replacement and would have originally been fitted with a scalloped or thin decagonal type. Apart from that everything else looks correct for this reference.
    All comes down to price I suppose. For me it’s a £700 - £900 watch.

Kek25, Passover and kalingwu like this.
  4. Davidt Oct 26, 2019

Looks like a decent example to me.

5. Spruce Sunburst dial fan Oct 26, 2019

Not being a purist, I sometimes have mixed feelings about crowns. At least my fingers can grip and turn the larger replacements like these.

6. ConElPueblo Oct 26, 2019

Have you had a Constellation with a scalloped crown? I really like those :)