First Post….recommended reading?

Hi all,

I bought my first Omega a few weeks back. Since then I have been hooked on researching 1940’s-1960’s. Mostly, Seamasters as I like the minimalist classy (IMO) designs.

I am a contractor and due to working with tools I can’t wear a ring. Years ago I had this tattoo made with the initials of my family on the face. At the time Omega was less about the brand as it was about a reminder of forging and committing a path in life with my family. (Happily married 24 years)

I still love a good book to read. What would be some top recommendations on a book about:
- History of Omega
- specific vintage Omega
- General vintage watch collecting.

Thanks in advance!

IMG_4226.jpeg

Welcome to the forum! My wife gifted me these on separate occasions, I’ve enjoyed reading them both. More about every brand, or organized by type of watches, rather than specific omega, but enjoyable reads nonetheless.
IMG_7557.jpeg For specific Omega reads there are these below and other OF members may know others as well.
- Omega: A Journey Through Time
@dsio wrote about it here on OF Stories in the link I attached above. But heads up that it’s more of a whole catalogue of the Omega brand rather than a good read.
- Moonwatch Only
Considered the ultimate Speedmaster guide.
- I’m sure a trip down the search button here on OF will also yield a bunch of good results.

Hi all,

I bought my first Omega a few weeks back. Since then I have been hooked on researching 1940’s-1960’s. Mostly, Seamasters as I like the minimalist classy (IMO) designs.

I am a contractor and due to working with tools I can’t wear a ring. Years ago I had this tattoo made with the initials of my family on the face. At the time Omega was less about the brand as it was about a reminder of forging and committing a path in life with my family. (Happily married 24 years)

I still love a good book to read. What would be some top recommendations on a book about:
- History of Omega