Forums Latest Members

First post: my journey with watches

1. JGreenman Jan 18, 2022

Hi all. I joined this awesome forum a while ago, in 2018. I think I found it when I was searching info about Universal Geneve FS -watches. And there is a great thread about them in the UG subforum. With the advice and confidence gathered from my research, I managed to get both mk1 and mk2 models. What beauties!

After seen some interesting stories about how people start their hobby (or disease, depending on the view) and how it evolves over time, I thought to share some of my own too, and at the same time break my silence here. Coming from Northern Europe, I thought that there's no point in posting if one has nothing to say :). And so much can be learned just by reading the threads and searching information. But sharing is also caring and there might be some bits and pieces could also share to help others too. That being said, I'm still learning new things all the time and cannot say that I'm any kind of expert in these matters. Ok, so here it goes.

I have always loved watches. Don't know what started it, but as a child of the 80s, the Casio watches were a big force growing up. Later, in my teens, Swatch was a big thing. I recently did some searching and found out that one of my first watches was Casio TS-1200 or at least very similar model, as it had a thermometer and I remember the blue sensor on the front. Seeing now that it's not totally worthless, it would be nice to have it still, but it's lost somewhere along the way.