Forums Latest Members
  1. Dave Marskell Jul 14, 2020

I figure my headline would get some attention ;) Firstly, I've been around forums for 25 years however, I'm a newbie to this one. I see there's an extraordinary amount of interest in which astronaut wore exactly which watch, when? Furthermore, supposedly NASA has actually kept records of this. What I do not understand, is why NASA would even care? Was it just a simple matter of inventory control because the watches were their property or was there more to it?

Edited Jul 14, 2020
  2. Syzygy Jul 14, 2020

Welcome to OF! While there are many members here that have extensive knowledge based on their research and could provide much more detail, I would agree that inventory control is a major factor. The value of a 'flown watch' for collectors correlates directly with the desire to have one...it's very high!

Another reason, at least in my mind, would be the scientific side of the card...tracking inventory closely allows for testing of any faults if they were to occur, and each watch is just like any other instrument utilized in each mission. Find the fault, find the fix, or find the redundancy required to overcome the fault in future missions.

Dave Marskell likes this.
  3. Donn Chambers Jul 14, 2020

Hey, Dave! Welcome to the OF. I remember you from TimeZone. I think this is a way cooler forum, so hang out mostly here now. In answer to your question, I think it’s mainly because NASA catalogs everything and it was just procedure. While I have never been directly employed my NASA, I have had numerous grants from them for my research. Back in the late 90s when I was at the University of Texas, we had a Mac desktop system that we used for the grant work and paid out of the grant. It required a NASA tag, and when the grant ended, we had to ship the then 6-year old (and obsolete) desktop to NASA.

WatchTimes and Dave Marskell like this.
  4. gdupree Jul 14, 2020