Forums Latest Members

Thinking about giving up on my dream...

1. Risto Feb 11, 2023

Well, it might sound a bit dramatic, but maybe it is.
    I just feel that I will never reach that point where I can end my current career and take the time off and start new path in my life.
    It makes me sad, but I don't see how can I make it.
    First-world problems perhaps...

So, I have been doing the same work for the last 17 years. I am a web designer, UI/UX expert, and front-end developer (to some level). I have been working as a freelancer since the beginning. Now I am turning 43. I have 2 small kids and good life. But, I feel that it's time to move on. I have felt that way for some time.

What I like to do is make films. Not those kinds of films. Regular. With stories. Be a director and cinematographer. I like photo/cinema gear. I often think about doing some storyboards etc...
    But, I have no time to do it. It would mean I have to train myself and learn a lot, a lot, a lot. And practice even more. All the time. Full time. Have no income. Fail and fail and fail.
    Then try to get some paid jobs... hmm.

So, today I listed a lot of my photo gear. 10 beautiful vintage lenses. With soul. They are not getting my attention.
    Am I making a big mistake? Can I postpone the future? Can you postpone life?
    Or... restart, reset. Don't look back... do it now today!

Anyway, I just felt I had to vent it. Maybe you guys have some inspirational stories to share :)

KLXN, jumpingsecond, Robert M and 9 others like this.
  2. Duracuir1 Never Used A Kodak Feb 11, 2023

Sounds like exciting times. Always put your loved ones first and involve your partner in the decision, if you have one. As a stranger, my advice and support should mean less than that of those closest to you. Good luck!

3. asrnj77 Feb 11, 2023