Forums Latest Members

So many Speedmasters to choose from..

1. T60 Mar 30, 2020

I've been lusting over a Speedy for the past ~5 years. I recently sold a watch (thankfully before the virus really hit) and now looking for one. The problem is there are too many to choose from!

I have a small wrist (6.5") and I have tried it on in the store already; it barely makes the cut for me, but so did my Sub C Date which I enjoy wearing. But ultimately I don't care, I'm the one wearing it :)

My first "problem" was trying to figure out if I should pick up the hesalite or sapphire sandwich. After much agony over a couple of weeks I've decided to go with the hesalite because it's a classic. Done, right? Nope.

Now I'm looking over bracelet/strap options for this. I spent a solid week looking through photos and appreciate that pretty much any strap looks good on it, but I'm more of a bracelet guy, so I'm going to buy one with a bracelet since it'll be cheaper than buying the bracelet later on. Still not done though :(

I realize late last night that the bracelet on the current model (and I guess for the past 7 years) has no taper like the old version (1499/1498 bracelets). With a small wrist, I think I need the 4mm taper like my Sub. So now I'm trying to figure out if I should buy one with a leather strap instead to save some cash, then buy a 1499/1498 bracelet if/when I see one. But now I'm also wondering if I should buy used instead, maybe even an older one that already comes with the bracelet I'm looking for. Sigh..

I guess this is all part of the "fun" but it seems like a bit of a headache to me now. (I realize there are a lot of things going on in this world and I'm super appreciative that I can even shop for a watch nowadays).

Readiness77, Owlsu and Mad Dog like this.
  2. 83n Mar 30, 2020

First I think that this is a good time for questions like that. Many of us got time to think about and answer this kind of questions :).