Forums Latest Members
  1. Andrescantur Nov 5, 2019

Hello people! I'm new to the forum and also I'm new to vintage watch collecting. I bought a vintage Omega Seamaster Cosmic + date and blue dial on ebay as an impulse. I got it yesterday and to me the watch is a original vintage piece, but I have my doubts.

-35.5 mm
    -Original Crown
    -Original Plexiglass plus original strap

The seller told me he was a collector and that his collection was growing to much, and couldn't keep up with the new watches that he was getting. I live in Texas and the watch came from Canada.

He also told me that the watch "works" but it stops and that it definitively needs a service. He said that I could take it to omega but that I was going to pay a good amount of money, he recommended to give it to a watchmaker of my trust.

Here are some photos to show you more about the watch.
    EAC66F34-2E34-4A53-BBB8-893218375EA2.JPG
    IMG_3931.jpg IMG_3932.jpg IMG_3933.jpg IMG_3934.jpg IMG_3935.jpg IMG_3936.jpg

Now, I think the watch is an authentic Vintage Omega, the only 2 things that I'm concerned about is, the blue dial and the strap.

1- Blue dial, Now I love how that blue shines, but I haven't found any photos anywhere of that blue in any other Seamaster Cosmics. I found other blue dials but they are way dark blues tones. if anyone knows about the color please help me out!

2- The strap, I think the strap is a fake it feels a little bit too lightweight and flimsy but I don't have the experience to tell. Here are some more photos of the strap.
    IMG_3947.jpg IMG_3948.jpg
    IMG_0100.jpg IMG_0953.jpg

I know the clasp should have omega engraving and not "Stainless Steel", is it posible that the strap is an original and the clasp is a replacement?.

Hope I gave enough info about the watch.

Edited Nov 5, 2019
    Rochete likes this.
  2. Toishome Nov 5, 2019