Forums Latest Members
  1. pxfeng Mar 13, 2020

Hi, I am new to the vintage watch and currently looking for Omega Seamaster/Constellation as my very first vintage watch! Any advice on that?

I am looking for this one on Ebay, and the buyer is asking for $535? Is this a fair price?

Brand: Omega Seamaster De Ville

Make: 60's

Original Omega dial professionally restored matte black.

Case: 14k Gold filled case, still in good condition, please see photos for actual details.

Glass: New swiss made acrylic crystal fitted no visible scratches.

Movement: Mechanical movement, Automatic, Date properly functions and Keep on time.

Diameter: Width 35 mm excluding crown.

Band: New unbranded genuine leather strap fitted.

Other's: Dial, Case, Crown, and Movement are signed.

Box and papers not available.

s-l1600.jpg s-l1600 (7).jpg s-l1600 (6).jpg s-l1600 (5).jpg s-l1600 (4).jpg s-l1600 (3).jpg s-l1600 (2).jpg s-l1600 (1).jpg

2. timecube Mar 14, 2020

Are you specifically looking for a gold-colored watch?
    Gold Filled means "heavy gold plate" which, as with ordinary gold plate is likely to abrade and wear off if you wear the watch daily/often. Unless you want a watch that looks like gold, and prefer not to pay for solid gold- it's not a great choice for "first vintage". The case is pretty scratched up too; you won't be able to polish or clean those away without compromising the plating.

Unsigned (e.g. generic non-Omega) crystal and refinished dial reduce its collectability (and value) quite a bit- though the crystal is replaceable with a genuine one if you cared to.

If you like the watch it's fine- though you could probably find something better for cheaper.

3. kip595 Mar 14, 2020

I'm not an expert on these vintages, but I agree with @timecube above.

I'd either wait for a better example, or, if you're really in love with this one, definitely try to negotiate the price.

4. OMEGuy Mar 14, 2020