Forums Latest Members

Omega Seamaster Screw down crown not closing

1. Wez1 Dec 28, 2020

Hi guys, I have a ceramic seamaster Which I’ve owned since July, an amazing watch which I love and cherish, but today after winding and setting the time I tried to screw down the crown which isn’t screwing in at all. I even tried cleaning around the crown with a clean brush but the crown isn’t screwing in. Please can you advise me on what I can do to resolve this. Many thanks

2. abrod520 Dec 28, 2020

Take it to your authorized dealer or Omega Boutique before doing anything else. This could potentially be a sign of a very bad situation - the threads on the screw-down crown could be stripped.

Wez1 likes this.
  3. Huus Dec 29, 2020

Not uncommon for that to happen.

Wez1 likes this.
  4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Dec 29, 2020

When you say ceramic Seamaster, do you mean a steel watch with ceramic bezel, or a model with the ceramic case?

The difference will be in the case tube material, so the steel model will have a steel case tube and crown, where the ceramic model uses titanium for those parts.

It sounds like the case tube is like stripped - the threads are typically on the inside of the tube and when they are stripped, they look like this:

[​IMG]

They should look like this:

[​IMG]