Forums Latest Members
  1. peanuts66 Oct 7, 2020

Hi I a a complete novice when it comes to watches but am in a lucky position to be able to buy myself a nice watch
    I have set my mind on a omega but the question is which one? I have had a De Ville in the past ( was stolen in a break in) It seems that i am needing to get dressed in a suit less and less so do not need a really smart ( dress?)watch so my thoughts have turned to something more casual so either a speedmaster or seamaster, would love opinions and pros and cons should add i have about 8k to spend
    Thanks for reading

Peter

2. dstfno Oct 7, 2020

It sounds like you're looking for 1 good watch to cover everything (although many of use started out that way and ended up having 5 :whistling:).

First of all, what is most important is that you like the look of the watch, regardless of which style it is. In a way, every mechanical watch is a dress watch nowadays. Nobody will give you weird looks if you'd wear a Speedmaster under your dress cuff.

When choosing a watch maybe you would want to have something that has a connection with a certain lifestyle or field of interest of you? Or one that adds to the image you want to project? For example, if you're a racing or space travel fan, the Speedmaster is the way to go. If you're more the underwater exploration guy, go for the Seamaster.

Another aspect to consider is water resistance. If you're someone who does (occasional) water activities it is nice to have a watch you don't have to take off when going in the water. That usually leads you to Omega's Seamaster range.

Personally, I like iconic watches that have a lot of history behind them. So when buying only 1 watch I would choose one of the heavy hitters of the brand you like most. Omega Speedmaster, Rolex Submariner, Breitling Navitimer, Zenith El Primero,...

I hope this helps and I'm sorry to hear your previous watch was stolen, I hope insurance covered it!