Forums Latest Members

New moonwatch. Minor knitpicks and questions.

1. Greg Bell Sep 28, 2019

Hey guys,

Picked up a new moonwatch from an Atlanta AD. Probably should have went to jomashop but I wanted the 5 year warranty and peace of mind given Omega’s recent grumpiness. I got it for 4815 which isn’t great but way better than the 5100 my local ad wanted.

Anyway, as I have owned a moonwatch before, I knew what to expect. Honestly, it’s the coolest watch available. It’s combination of classic looks and unsurpassed history place it at the top of my list of watches.

Knitpicks...

1. One thing I just may not have noticed before is the band is kind of sharp feeling. I have a seamaster and a Milgauss and their bands are buttery smooth by comparison.

2. I also noticed that the hands have fairly crude paint on them. Is that normal? Now this is under magnification, not visible with the naked eye. The lume , however, seems to be applied with precision.

3. The watch is new, but I am gaining about + 15 per day. I remember my last ran slow so I am happier, but I am curious to see if it settles with a routine. I have been able to keep my Milgauss to zero by rotating leaving it flat on its back and face down.

4.. Does anyone have any tricks for slowing down your moonwatch?

Guys, I am totally knit-picking. I love the watch and am really just trying to chat about these things.

[​IMG]Untitled by stoiclawyer, on Flickr

Edited Sep 28, 2019
  2. time flies Sep 28, 2019

Resting position may offer a bit of relief.
    20181222_081856.jpg
    have fun
    Kfw

3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Sep 28, 2019

The hands are painted. Calling it crudely done is I suppose a matter of option. It's a matte finish, but not what I would call crude by any means.

Timekeeping tolerances for the Cal. 1861 are that the average daily rate (measured over just 3 positions) should fall between -1 and +11 seconds per day.

Pun and Foo2rama like this.
  4. rudagger Sep 29, 2019