New Guy Question: Moonwatch vs Speedmaster 38

Hi everyone.

I’m just getting into this crazy world of watches (I was on a custom knife kick for a while). I had tried a smart watch in the past but hated it, maybe it was just the being connected. I bought a carbon G Shock Mudmaster after spending a couple weeks in Grand Teton and Glacier. I liked being disconnected from the world, but wanted a watch to take a beating. After getting it I realized I liked wearing a watch and now here I am.

I never got myself anything nice after my military retirement so I decided this would be perfect. My Mudmaster for my outdoor stuff and an Omega for nicer events and everyday wear.

So with that long diatribe, I am of course looking at the Hesalite Moonwatch. But in my research I also ran across the 38. To my uninitiated eye, they look very similar.

I know the 38 is 4mm smaller than the Moonwatch. It is also an automatic and has sapphire crystal.

Other than that, for the 1300 difference in price, what do I get with the Moonwatch for that price difference? Or is it just the historical designation of being the first watch on the moon and being mechanical?

And since I wouldn’t be wearing it every day since I don’t always leave my place, would a mechanical or auto be better?

Thanks for indulging the questions

Welcome! I think the 38 is geared as more of a ladies watch but there is no reason a man couldn’t wear one. Personally, I don’t care for the oval sub-registers, bezel, or date window on the 38. Moonwatch would be an easy choice for me. Also take a look at the heritage Speedmaster 57. It has a bit smaller case size than the Moonwatch and a better date implementation than the 38, classic hands and bracelet and looks amazing but it’s getting up there in price.