Forums Latest Members

Sapphire Sandwich vs Speedmaster Racing

1. manthony02 Apr 12, 2019

Hi All,

First post here... would appreciate opinions. I know there's no right answer to this, but I'm interested in opinions. I know this has been discussed before, and I've read those threads, but I'm asking again.

I'm looking to buy my first Omega to add to my existing small collection: Seiko Turtle and Samurai re-issues, an Ebel Tarawa (weird I know but the sapphire crystal shape is undeniably unique), and a Rolex Datejust II. I'm relatively new to the watch hobby, but the more I learn, the more I dislike Rolex and like Omega. I think Omega is just plain more innovative and creating better watches right now.

That said, I'm having a really hard time choosing where to start. As an Aerospace Engineer, I'm somewhat embarrassed by the fact that I don't own a moonwatch, so candidate 1 is a new sapphire sandwich (311.30.42.30.01.006). I wear all my watches, and as evidenced by my seikos I need the durability of the sapphire over the hesalite. Plus, I want the exhibition case back because I think for the price point, the decoration of the 1863 movement is outstanding. But... the 1863 is cam operated and lateral clutch, which isn't necessarily bad, but also isn't "haute horology" (if that matters) or as durable/refined as a column-wheel+vertical clutch chronograph.

I also tried on a new Speedmaster racing white dial (329.30.44.51.04.001), and I can't get it out of my head. I think the 9900 movement is pretty much the best chronograph movement available today (about the only other contender in my mind is the Vacheron Constantin Caliber 5200 in the overseas, which is almost 4x the cost). I think the 9900 is amazing.. co-axial escapement, double barrel mainsprings, column-wheel & vertical clutch chronograph. I would wear this and be confidently smug every time I see someone who paid 2-3x for a Daytona (also column wheel and vertical clutch).