Forums Latest Members
  1. Anzyanz Aug 6, 2022

Hi Everyone, after lurking around on the forums for a while now, I thought I would share my first purchase with you!

I'm very much a noob but this one was doing a 'buy me! buy me!' dance in the corner of the top shelf in a small clock repair/restoration shop in a village near to me, and I just brought it ... I know, I know but I liked it and well, it's mine now.

From what information I've been able to garner, I'm pretty sure I have a 1952 Omega Seamaster Automatic Cal 354 (Bumper) C 2577-6 SC with Black Hobnail ‘Clous de Paris’ Dial, possibly faded script on the face (more about that later). It has applied Gilt Arrowhead indices, Dauphine Hands, Red Laquer Second Hand, Omega Crown, Stainless Steel 36mm Case, Engraved ‘Seamaster’ on the case back, no Hippocampus which is correct for year of manufacture.

The Crystal is a replacement as the original was signed but had a crack across it, the seller tried to obtain a genuine but couldn't find one (are they still available?) and the original strap had long gone but I liked the replacement Hirsch which had been put on.

There are at least ten service marks inside the case back and it's running very accurately, so far no loss/gain at all over 5 days, not even a second and, most importantly ... I love it!

I could do with your feedback on a few things I haven't been able to figure out for myself and would also appreciate any pointers on things I may have missed.

Do indentations on the hands and the slots on the arrowheads mean the lume has been removed? It definately doesn't glow even after holding under a strong light to 'charge it'. There's no No T prefix before Swiss Made so does this mean that there was once radium? I believe Tritium only came in at the end of the 1950's. There's also a small bit of corrosion or maybe the red lacquer has flaked off in the centre of the second hand.