Forums Latest Members
  1. Fargs Jun 25, 2020

image.jpg Hello I’m new to watch collecting and was wondering if anybody could help me ascertain whether this is real or not. Thank you image.jpg image.jpg

2. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Jun 25, 2020

Real, yes.

Based on the back of the watch I'd say the top/sides of the case have been refinished as has the dial.

Davidt likes this.
  3. Fargs Jun 25, 2020

Thanks for your reply. Real is very pleasing indeed, I appreciate your informed opinion as it was a drunken ebay buy. As for the top and sides of the case I can see the cleaning marks by some abrasive material. I apologise for my ignorance but how would they refinish the dial. Also could I ask if anybody would know the year and cal. of this model.

4. Davidt Jun 25, 2020

The case looks to have had some serious refinishing as the shape is very ‘off’.

the dial has been cleaned back to bare metal then repainted.

Unfortunately both of the above significantly impact collectability.

It’s probably early-mid 70’s, with a calibre 1012 and likely started off as a Cosmic 2000

5. dan7800 Jun 25, 2020

How 90% of the watches are purchased.

UncleBuck likes this.
  6. Spruce Sunburst dial fan Jun 25, 2020

Still, hopefully you enjoy it for what it is

7. Fargs Jun 25, 2020

Thanks for your answer. I have checked other blue dials and they seem to darken towards the edges instead of the consistency of colour on this dial. As for the shape being off,do you mean that they have scoured a mill or two too much on various planes, which is obvious. Again I must apologise for my ignorance but when you mean it started off as a Cosmic 2000 ,does that mean someone has tinkered and renamed whilst repainting the dial. As for collectability, I paid £600 for it and although maybe not pukka , I do like it. Hopefully it is worth that if it gives me joy, please tell me if I'm way off on price Again if someone could pinpoint the year, that would be fantastic thank you