Forums Latest Members

Is a Speedmaster Moonwatch 42mm too big for a 6.5inch/16.5mm wrist?

1. passingtime Jun 5, 2021

I'm new to Omega watches and this forum. I currently have a Hamilton and Baume & Mercier. Now looking to add a Speedmaster Professional to my collection. I know it is impossible to answer my question exactly as their are lots of factors, and I should probably just go and try a few on. Unfortunately, I don't live somewhere that is easily done. Just curious for those of you that have about my size wrist if you find the 42mm Speedy too large, just right, or too small?

Also, I've been looking at the 80s reference 145.0022 and 90s reference 3590.50. Is this a good spot to land for a first Speedy, and should I be asking about them in the Modern or Vintage Omega thread section? Thanks in advance for your help.

2. smoothsecondscom Jun 5, 2021

I would say so. I think 41-42 are my max in terms of size, and I have a 18CM wrist. Perhaps you could get away with it, especially if your wrist is somewhat flat, but I think it's a bit too large.

You could try a speedmaster reduced though, they look similair, are smaller and cheaper.

passingtime likes this.
  3. Evitzee Jun 5, 2021

Raw size doesn't tell the whole story, all watches of a particular size will wear different on the same wrist. You will really need to try one on to determine if it fits your eyes, it's worth the effort to do that. I never felt a Speedmaster was that big of a watch. I'd say a 6.5" wrist can easily wear one but only you can make that determination.

passingtime likes this.
  4. Shabbaz Jun 5, 2021

I have a 16,5cm wrist

20210602_181511.jpg
    iamvr, vintage hab, richiv and 2 others like this.
  5. passingtime Jun 5, 2021

My mileage will vary I'm sure, but based on your photo, I'll likely be right at the edge of what will work size wise. Thanks for sharing!

6. nwpan Jun 5, 2021