How to identify whether the case is original ?

Hi everyone,

Im new to collect vintage watches. After buying several vintage Omegas, I suddenly realized that the case of a watch seems to be an easily replaceable part. Some enthusiastic people on this forum told me that the case of a vintage watch should have signs of aging, and if the case has been severely polished, it will lose its sharp edges. But some cases do not originally have sharp edges, and the polished one does not look very different from the original one, so I can't identify whether the case has been polished or just replaced. This Rolex in the picture is an example, its case looks just too new and significantly different from the condition of dial. For such kind of vintage watch, is there any way to tell whether the case has been polished or replaced? Please educate me, thanks.
IMG_20240714_171305.jpg IMG_20240714_171318.jpg IMG_20240714_171340.jpg
IMG_20240714_171404.jpg
Edited:

Maybe you are lucky and able to find the reference you want to determine somewhere else listed (or listed in the past) as NOS (New Old Stock) / like new condition, that could be a way to compare cases.

On some watches it’s easy to tell- particularly sport Rolexes when looking at cratered spring bar holes, soft crown guards and rounded (aka missing) chamfers. Dials age differently than case- some people can’t believe a well preserved dial can exist inside a well worn case (dial is on the inside), but conversely a very minimally work watch that had moisture ingress can show dial damage/age/patina with a case that shows very little wear.