Forums Latest Members

How to identify a relume by UV light inspection?

1. nitediver Jan 3, 2021

We are all aware that one of the most important questions on a vintage watches is whether the dial is original or not.

I am aware that there are many factors to consider when inspecting vintage dials, and reaction to UV light is only one of them. Still, in the following I will focus on reaction of tritium dials to UV light. I have only few watches with radium dials, set lets set them aside for this post.

I have been doing some reading on this topics on various forums, but i still struggle to make real sense out of it so I am looking for your opinion and advice.

I studied some of my own watches and dials for comparison. I have some 30 plus vintage watches and almost all my vintage watches of various brands and periods glow when activated with UV light, and after a few seconds the glow fades. Some watches do not really glow, but rather reflect, similar to a reflective tape you will find on clothing or a bicycle helmet.

However, some dials do neither glow nor reflect the light, and this is what puzzles me.

To research the topic, i inspected some of my own watches and spare dials which do not show the typical glow under UV light. I looked at the following examples:

1) Rolex GMT Master 16700 from 1989

2) Rolex GMT Master spare tritium dial

3) Rolex 16570 black spare dial

4) Rolex 16570 white dial spare dial

5) Zodiac Sea Wolf

6) Glycine Airman SST 1970’s

7) Freese Series 1 – as comparison of what can be done with modern reluming.

I sourced the spare dial No. 2, 3 and 4 from a reputable seller in good standing on VRF, so I have every reason to believe they are legit. I purchased them with the intention to fit it to a 1990s Explorer II Ref. 16570 , as many of those have service dial. But for various reasons, I haven’t pulled the trigger on a Explorer II, so as of now I only have the dials.