Forums Latest Members

How long should a leather strap last?

1. Steve Essex Dec 13, 2019

As above. I bought an Omega leather deployant strap when I got my Speedmaster '57 in November 2017. Pretty sure I paid £160 for the strap alone. I use the watch in rotation with one other and I rotate the strap and the bracelet on the '57. I suppose at most it’s seen 6 months use. Furthermore, during those 6 months use, it is only worn at odd evenings when I’m indoors and weekends. Yesterday I removed the deployant clasp to fit it on to another watch strap and I noticed that the ends were fraying/splitting where the deployant spring bar goes through it. I'd say there is now only 80% left of the part of the strap that the spring bar locates. If that goes, I could potentially lose or damage the watch. The lug ends of both strap halves are perfect. Is this normal wear and tear?

2. Canuck Dec 13, 2019

Leather is an organic material that absorbs perspiration and other such exudations (ugh) from the skin, owing to the fact that the leather is in direct contact with the skin. Try wearing leather shoes without socks. The climate where you live may be a factor in what the leather, and the stitching, are exposed to.j

M'Bob likes this.
  3. bama2141 Dec 13, 2019

Pictures? I’d say that the damage was unusual. A quality deployant strap should last years when worn in rotation with other watches
    Do you wear the band very tightly? Submerge it in water? Use leather conditioners?

4. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Dec 13, 2019

I live tropical and would say
    A cheap strap less than a year.
    Good strap like a OEM a year and a bit or 2 at the most.

A great strap like a SNPR strap from Joe. Forever

B240A666-6B50-4AB6-817B-6F930C6B3F9A.jpeg F8E983CE-B315-4D83-A214-CB9C74A4999E.jpeg
    Best straps I have ever bought and I have bought a lot over the years
    https://snprstrap.com/shop