Forums Latest Members

Buying a vintage Omega for my husband - advice please

1. japaneseanemones Oct 17, 2019

Good afternoon. As a complete novice (based in the UK), I would be very grateful indeed for some advice and help.

Some background. My lovely husband is currently without a watch (it gave up the ghost one day). It was nothing special. I cannot remember the brand but it was more of a simple, classic style, champagne coloured face and tan strap.

He has been a huge support to me over the years and I love him to bits and want to buy him a new watch. He is an engineer by trade and appreciates nice workmanship. I thought therefore a vintage Omega would fit the bill.

I do not have much to spend (I work full time but am not a high earner!). I have been looking and reading for the last two or so weeks. It's a bit overwhelming! I have concluded that a vintage Omega De Ville would suit. I think a watch with a date setting (though not essential) and an automatic. I realise now my budget of £200 is a bit unrealistic, so I have since revised that to £300, and now £350…..

Some questions:

1. Most Omega De Villes that I have seen in my price range(ish) appear to be from the late 60's and upwards, very occasionally up to early 90s. In your opinion are there any specific calibres of these eras I should avoid/look for? I also wonder if some calibres are easier to service, purchase parts for if needed in the future?

2. I want to get any watch I purchase serviced. I understand that there are good people on here that may be able to help with this when the time comes but how much should I budget for this, roughly?

3. There is no specific date that a watch is needed by, so I can take my time if needs be. However, I wonder if by buying now I will get caught up in any Christmas hike in prices, if this is a thing?