Forums Latest Members
  1. Seamaster4463 Feb 21, 2019

I’m after some advice on the use of watch winders. I have 4 automatic seamasters that I wear on rotate and leave those I’m not wearing on a winder. I recently visited an independent watchmaker who advised that this wasn’t a good idea as it will wear the parts out quicker. The advice was to just let them wind down and then wind up when I change over. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. REckroat Feb 21, 2019

While I am not an expert, nor profess any expertise, I have read/heard the same caution against leaving a watch on a winder. Most of the commentary warned against long-term usage of watch winders due to the specific and repetitive path that the watch will travel, putting the watch in the exact same position time and time again. This would lead to concentrated wear on specific parts of the movement. Haven't read anything specific to the length of time it would take, but the logic of the mechanics being described were consistent from author to author and seemed sound.

Personally, I will try to remember to wind mine if they've gone more than a day without wearing. I've also read that letting them sit wound down for extending periods of time (talking months/years most likely) could lead to the lubricants at the contact points congealing.

Basically, these beauties are meant to be worn and enjoyed with regularity, not sitting in cases!

Seamaster4463 likes this.
  3. Wetworks Feb 21, 2019

I use a winder, I also rotate through my watches fairly often, rarely wearing one more than a couple of days in a row. I've now taken to turning the winder off in the evening to reduce wear. I let my vintage piece remain unwound.

4. ras47 Feb 21, 2019