Forums Latest Members
  1. afaw34 Jun 14, 2020

So I recently bought a vintage Omega seamaster from 1960. I just found out that it has radium dots and hands. They are in pretty good condition and not chipped..yet.

I know the conventional knowledge is that it's safe unless you are opening the case and breathing in the dust... But there has been a new study that say radium watches can still be a health hazard under normal circumstances: https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/new-report-shows-radium-dials-might-pose-serious-danger

Also, if you think about it, the radium paint will continue to degrade over the next decades of me owning it. Sure, they are in decent condition now but who knows how they will continue to age in the next 20 years.

What if they get damaged and the radium lume starts chipping? The watch case isn't air-tight so the dust might escape.

Another problem for me is that I am a university student who lives in a small room. I can't store the watch in the basement or somewhere that's well-ventilated. I can only store it in my drawer beside my desk.

All this got me worried about the potential health hazard of owning this lovely vintage watch...Although the risk might be incredibly tiny, I feel like the experience of wearing and owning this watch will forever be tarnished by knowing that I'm wearing something that's a potential health hazard. Also, I was planning on wearing this watch daily... Is this something that I wanna do with a radium watch? I'm not sure...

Do you guys think I should return the watch?

Edited Jun 14, 2020
  2. watchyouwant ΩF Clairvoyant Jun 14, 2020

For a small fee, we will dispose of it correctly. Just pay postage to Australia and we have plenty of space for dangerous things.......will send you a picture of the hole in the ground, where the last resting place is. Kind regards. Achim

khangct, NT931, OmegaP99 and 18 others like this.
  3. padders Oooo subtitles! Jun 15, 2020