Forums Latest Members

Timegrapher, is there a difference?

1. PhilF Nov 9, 2019

I have a Current (2018) Speedmaster and a Seamaster, as well as some other mechanical watches, Seiko, etc. Been considering purchasing a Timegrapher, more out of curiosity than any real use or need. My question is, what's the difference between the various models on Amazon? Seeing various brands, all with the model # 1000, also some similar units with 1900, 1600, etc with prices from $130-$300. Reading the "information" which seems obviously translated from Chinese, is mostly bad syntax/gibberish. My Seamaster is a coaxial, some models mention coaxial, but nothing further.
    So, any experience here on what to buy? What has worked for you? Is Amazon the place I should be looking? Also looking at an inexpensive ultrasonic jewelry cleaner for bracelets, looks like a $30 or so unit would work. Appreciate any insight here. Thanks

2. wsfarrell Nov 9, 2019

This ultrasonic cleanerPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network on eBay has worked for me for several years, as has this timegrapher.Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network All the 1000 model timegraphers are pretty much the same, and the word "coaxial" in the title means nothing---it's just keyword spamming.

PhilF likes this.
  3. keepitsimple Nov 9, 2019

Mine is a basic "1000" version, although there seem to be several sub-versions of that too. It has a monochrome screen, and some people find a colour screen better to separate the lines more easily.
    Some have a gain control, others are automatic. Mine is automatic and it does a good job of picking up every watch I have apart from an old Certina which has a slight "ting" noise that confuses it. After a few attempts it will pick it up though.
    Amazon or ebay is likely the best source, and since they all seem pretty close in quality I'd buy on price/location.