Forums Latest Members

Thoughts on this 'Universal Geneve' watch?

1. vintageuhr Apr 8, 2021

Unfortunately, I bid on this watch thinking I was getting a bargain, even though the dial seemed weird to me and I am a total noob:
    https://catalog.antiquorum.swiss/en/lots/universal-ref-1-4246-so-called-jumbo-lot-337-142

I wish I had asked here before, but hindsight is a wonderful thing. Anyway, I have already emailed them that this is essentially false advertising and I should not have to pay for the watch. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Edited Apr 8, 2021
  2. Fallout Boy Apr 8, 2021

Regrets.... Probably study the termes of trade first and their proposals for a return. Any "offer" should be done by antiquorum first.
    Difficult.
    good luck.

3. vintageuhr Apr 8, 2021

'The sold as is' should not be an umbrella term to mislead people freely, if members here can immediately spot a repainted dial which is not declared, how did their 'expert' not notice anything?

Edited Apr 10, 2021
  4. Mark020 not the sharpest pencil in the ΩF drawer Apr 8, 2021

Well it was pretty much declared isn't it?

Franker.JPG

wristpirate likes this.
  5. ConElPueblo Apr 8, 2021

I only see that the hands are declared as being later replacements. That they make a point of declaring that the dial is 'signed' seems to me that they infer that it is genuine. Otherwise that line is of no value.

6. Traveler Apr 8, 2021

Pics for posterity:

AAB7AC41-378B-4948-AFD5-FA6145F4652A.jpeg

Let’s not get carried away here - it’s a ratty looking watch, but it’s CHF 350 - not sure that’s worth thinking about suing over...

I would have a long hard think about why you thought it was worth buying, and consider that a very small noob tax.

Syrte, Dries, Scarecrow Boat and 6 others like this.
  7. NotAClue Apr 8, 2021

It depends greatly on each other's wallets, I'm afraid... I must confess that my noob tax was a bit higher... ::facepalm2::