Forums Latest Members

SOCCER I need to vent....badly

1. CaptainWinsor Oct 27, 2019

This is lengthy so don’t feel the need to read through.
    Ok some may know that I’m a youth soccer referee. I had 3 games today all U12. First game nightmare. Attacking player kicks ball towards goal and is chasing it along with defender. Keeper runs out 5-6 yards outside the penalty area and picks up ball. I’m AR for the game. Ref is young maybe 14. He doesn’t know what to do. I told him it’s a red card offense and direct free kick.

he says he doesn’t want to give a card. I say he should so he does. Coach goes ballistic. Makes 2 ridiculous statements. You don’t give cards at this age, it’s a teaching moment and she doesn’t play goal and didn’t know the rules. My thought is I DON’T F’N CARE. Those are the laws of the game. This isn’t Baseball with a hundred ‘unwritten’ rules.

Now the coach comes on the field and starts to intimidate the young ref. Parents too. I step in because I know this is what they do and I don’t put up with bullying. He says he play unless card is revoked and tells his kids to leaves the field. Now of course the discussion gets heated and I wrongly dropped a number of F Bombs in front of the kids. All of a sudden it was about my behavior and I was setting a bad example. Of course pulling your team off because you don’t like the call is a great example to set.

In the end he got the ref to take back the card, which you can’t do, and gave an indirect FK. So I’m on the other teams side of the field. The coach and parents obviously agree with the call but also say this coach is a well known jerk. In the end his team loses and he said he’s reporting me. I don’t care I said I just told my ref assignor I QUIT!