Forums Latest Members

Seamasters and Constellations value, market development and discussion

1. Hammond123 Feb 9, 2020

Hello fellow Omega enthusiasts,

I'm relatively new to the world of vintage watches, and currently in the process of scouring the internet for a specific watch. Now there's an interesting observation on watch prices I made and I'm interested in what you guys think about this.

So, there are countless threads on different watches, how to's, what to look out for etc. Now I noticed that there is a very big difference between what is said about watch worth/willing to pay and actual prices of listings and settled amounts of auctions on eBay, chrono24 and others. Currently, most watches are listed well over $1000 (even redials), and some over $2000. Now some threads are a bit older and might not apply to the current market situation. So I was wondering, has value significantly increased due to market development, increased demand or are stores/dealers trying to take advantage of general buyer ignorance.

There are some watches (like an all original black dial seamaster deville date) i'm interested but asking prices are well over $1500 and I can't ignore the many threads stating a value of less than half that price.

So, what do you guys think about this?

2. JwRosenthal Feb 9, 2020

Welcome to the forum and kudos on doing your research before you buy.
    Posting pics or a link to the SM in question (I am assuming the one in your avatar) would give us an example to help illustrate your question. Real black dialed Seamaster are rare (silver was more popular at the time) and most on the maket are redials to mimick the “Don Draper” watch which was a fantasy redial and not an original piece.