Forums Latest Members
  1. Matt1987 Mar 7, 2014

Hello all,

I bought this De Ville off Ebay about a year ago, wondering if the dial has been redone. I believe, although I'm not 100% sure, that its a 166.020. I'm sorry about the crappy pic this was as best as I could get my iphone to do.

In better lighting the dial fonts look more silver-ish then white in color. Also, sorry about the huge-ness of the pic too, obviously I'm no expert... :thumbsdown:
    I know from this forum that black is a rare dial color and I'm also concerned with the alignment of the 'swiss made' at the bottom. I'm leaning towards it being a redial.

Any help is appreciated!

Matt

Deville pic.jpg

2. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Mar 7, 2014

Hard to tell without clearer pics but it looks OK to me.

The Ω symbol and OMEGA are applied metal I presume.

The Swiss Made is centred correctly, Omega centred the two words, not one either side of the six.

Is the tension ring silver or gold (hard to tell)

Others may be able to add more.

3. hoipolloi Vintage Omega Connoisseur Mar 7, 2014

It's not the tension ring, it's the movement retainer ring, Jim.

4. Matt1987 Mar 7, 2014

The omega symbol and OMEGA are applied metal.

The tension ring is silver, the movement retainer ring is gold. Or at least looks like gold.

Thanks for the replies!

5. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Mar 7, 2014

Looks original to me.

6. hoipolloi Vintage Omega Connoisseur Mar 7, 2014

[​IMG]

The Cross of the T's in AUTOMATIC look a bit short.

[​IMG]

Original T's

and the top of the second s in Seamaster is a bit too short.

[​IMG]

7. ulackfocus Mar 7, 2014

It's probably a redial, but a half decent one. The lack of serifs make me think that.

8. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Mar 7, 2014

::facepalm1::

I should have been wearing my specs, I thought the stem was a reflection of the marker and date bezel in the tension ring :oops:

The Seamster font looks a bit too heavy as well (now that I can see it ;))