Forums Latest Members
  1. cezar Apr 27, 2021

I have a new sapphire speedmaster on the way, and I'm over the moon. It's my first big watch purchase and I could not be more excited.

I have a couple questions now and I bet I will have a couple questions later.

First question, I did a ton of reading on this but I still didn't get a answer I understood; on this movement is it okay to run the chrono 24/7 forever? Or bad for the mechanism?

Second question; I had a terrible experience at the local dealer and ended up ordering direct (I literally walked out in less than 60 seconds) so I will not be going back. Can I trust any competent jeweler with sizing my watch or do I need to be careful who touches it? I've spoken to two--both said they would need to see it to commit to doing it (i.e. no direct experience), but both are known to be good jewelers. How big of a deal is sizing the watch at a decent non-authorized place?

2. Gruesome Apr 27, 2021

I think it's helpful for all of us to actually identify the dealers and boutiques we had good and bad experiences with.

Your bad experience was with an authorized dealer, it seems. Do you have an Omega boutique nearby? Sizing a watch band is not rocket science, but you don't want somebody to practice for the first time on your watch...

3. Evitzee Apr 27, 2021

General rule with many chronographs of the Omega design is running the chronograph continuously will result in more wear, but it might not be a real factor because you'll need a general service down the road before the wear becomes a problem.

I would approach a jeweler who is not familiar with the design of the Omega bracelet with caution. It's not super complicated but it does have tiny screws that can be stubborn to remove without heat and a good quality screwdriver. You would hate for them to bugger up a couple of screws by not approaching the job correctly or understanding the way it is constructed.

Risto likes this.
  4. PhilF Apr 27, 2021