Forums Latest Members
  1. Adizzy Jul 14, 2020

Hey everyone,

I need help from the experts. I'm new to watches and looking for my first vintage piece and love the look and history of omega Vintage pieces. Can you take a look at the pics below and give me your take on which model omega this is and it's value? It is up for auction tomorrow and I want to know whether it will be a good first piece to buy. Sorry the pictures aren't great, that's all I've been given.

Thanks!

Screenshot_20200714-131302~2.png Screenshot_20200714-134004~2.png
  2. Canuck Jul 14, 2020

Don’t be in a hurry for this one. It is not rare. We really need to see the mechanism in the watch, and the inside of the case back. Always allow for the possibility (probability) that the watch will need to be serviced. So depending on where you live, allow $200 or more above what you pay for the watch. If the seller is unable to give you those pictures I have asked for, I suggest you don’t buy it!

connieseamaster likes this.
  3. Adizzy Jul 14, 2020

Thanks Canuck, I really appreciate your reply. Unfortunately I've asked for more but the auctioneer won't send me pictures of the mechanism. Ok great I will be sure to hold off and wait for a better piece, or spend the extra money to get it from an AD. You put my mind at ease.

4. OmegaP99 Jul 14, 2020

Seems a safe bet that's a redial (refinished/repainted dial) as well. The Omega font is generally finer and more elegant on an original dial. You may have learned already that originality is valued in vintage watches, so this may not be the fully vintage piece you're looking for as a first Omega. An original piece will also retain or grow in value over time, which is useful should you later decide to trade it off for a diver or pilot model for example. Mainly however, find the best one you can afford so you can keep it forever and even pass it along as a family heirloom.