Forums Latest Members
  1. chris-jones Feb 25, 2020

Hi All,
    I am new to this. I was bought this as a gift. They thought it looked different. It was bought from a repeatable jewelers in Manchester - Aruther Kay & Brothers. I assume the face has been changed. Apparently it was bought in an auction. They changed the strap as it was old. They put a bright one on it but it looked a bit much so a brown one one on it. I like that it looks different however i would like to know if its real. I have tried to find the watch on google but i cant even find the same shape/style. All the motions work and the date time work smoothly. Anyway has anyone any idea how old it is and if it looks legitimate.

4311a400-8516-44fb-a6d1-b737dbe9f177 (002).png d1d771ca-c1c8-43b6-ac5f-cb341c8e4e14.jpg
  2. KingCrouchy Feb 25, 2020

Hello and welcome here on OF.:thumbsup:

The Watch looks like a badly Redialed Ref.166.0188 with a Cal.1022 with replaced Hands.

FBPB likes this.
  3. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Feb 25, 2020

While the watch appears to be genuine the dial has been refinished in a color never offered by Omega.

If you like it wear and enjoy it.

Samir and Foo2rama like this.
  4. Davidt Feb 25, 2020

Fantasy redial. Hopefully you didn’t pay much.

FBPB likes this.
  5. FBPB Feb 25, 2020

If you don't like it, ask the store if you can return it....

6. chris-jones Feb 25, 2020

Thanks for the comments. I have mixed feelings. I thought the colour must have been changed however that was what I actually liked "different" albeit that might not be a good different.
    Again forgive me for my naive approach to this so does this make it fake or just over played with and worthless?
    So is it a 1970's watch? Does it hold any value for being different haha or is that stupid?

7. Davidt Feb 25, 2020

It’s genuine but the dials been repainted.

kinda like getting a vintage Porsche and crudely spray painting it lime green in your garage.

Samir and blufinz52 like this.