Forums Latest Members

Need help identifying originality of this 1946 Omega Mechanical

1. Romulus Aug 24, 2019

E9630AA3-24BC-4A3C-9C27-C07596670F1D.png F21FAA05-4E17-48A6-94F3-D8AA364E61B9.png Im looking to purchase this 1946 Omega from eBay for a great price but I'm new to vintage watches and could use some advice! From the serial number I looked up the watch on Omega and it stated that it's a 1946 265
    Movement mechanical watch. The seller acquired it from an estate and knows very little about the history and working of the watch, just knows that it keeps time but can't give me a definite + - time over 24 hours. I have a few concerns about the dial, it looks like the logo and lettering have been applied. Can anyone give me a hand identifying the watch and conditions! It doesn't come with a strap or lugs.
    Thanks!

8BA680A5-9B38-4DA1-8BFC-9EBEE88179C6.png
  2. Vitezi Aug 24, 2019

Hello, and welcome to the forum!

I would advise you to give that watch back to the seller, thank them kindly, stuff your wallet back into your pocket, and walk away. Before you spend a dime, slow down and take some time to educate yourself on what makes a good buy, and what is junk. Start here:

https://omegaforums.net/threads/condition-condition-condition-and-other-pieces-of-advice.1716/
    https://omegaforums.net/threads/learn-how-to-fish.52603/
    https://omegaforums.net/threads/horology-101-understanding-your-watch.76731/

If you're still here after that, then dive into these threads:

https://omegaforums.net/threads/wruw-today.567/
    https://omegaforums.net/threads/hor...luential-automatic-wristwatch-calibers.76549/

Don't be afraid to ask questions about watches other collectors are wearing. Join other watch forums. Buy a book or two on marques that interest you. Review the watches for sale on this forum. The right vintage watch for you has been patiently waiting for decades for you to find it; a little longer won't hurt.