Forums Latest Members

Magnetized Seamaster Pro Chronometer

1. tda003 Oct 15, 2020

Checking in from Ft. Walton Beach, FL. I hope I'm on the right part of this forum. If not, let me know and I'll repost accordingly.

I have a Seamaster Pro chronometer which I bought new in 1986. Two tone w/ "James Bond" dial. I recently had it serviced and for a while afterwards it kept perfect time. Suddenly, it started running over 2 minutes fast daily. I checked with a compass and it caused the needle to swing, so I suspected it had become magnetized. I sent it off to be checked/repaired and sure enough, it had become magnetized. The repairman (factory certified) said that it was likely caused by contact with my tablet's speaker.

Is this likely and, if so, will my cell phone, which is like a small tablet, cause this to repeatedly occur? The repair facility couldn't answer this question. Can anyone help me?

I really like this watch, but can't be sending off for repair every month or so.

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Oct 15, 2020

Yes, it's quite possible. You can buy your self a demagnetizer, and demagnetize it yourself.

Cheers, Al

Scooterino36 likes this.
  3. tda003 Oct 15, 2020

Thanks very much. Where can I get a suitable demagnetizer. I'm guessing it's a kind of small degaussing device.

StudebakerHawk likes this.
  4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Oct 15, 2020

5. StudebakerHawk Oct 15, 2020

Are the apps for the iPhone reliable for detecting and degaussing?

6. tda003 Oct 16, 2020

7. SkunkPrince Oct 16, 2020

Not really. They have strong magnets in them. The iPhone 12 has big honkin' magnets on the back now for their wireless charging device.

8. tda003 Oct 17, 2020

Archer,
    Thanks very much for your input. Went to eBay and bought an Etic demagnetizer.

9. amcclell Oct 17, 2020