Forums Latest Members
  1. MrFriday* Apr 9, 2022

Hi all,

I am quite new to the watch hobby. Recently a new incoming watch did not run anymore when it arrived, although I know it worked fine when it was sent to me. I felt a fascination for the tiny mechanics inside of watches before but that showed me again, that until now I have (nearly) no knowledge about how a movement really works.

Therefore I first want to dive deeper and accumulate more knowledge about basic principles and parts.
    In a (more distant future) I would like to try working on a cheap/defect movement. On the one hand to get some "hands-on insights" and on the other hand to follow the small chance of fixing/servicing a defect one.

To get there I would like to ask you for tipps, tricks and literature recommendations.

In detail:
    - Can you recommend books (english/german) explaining basic principles of hand-wound/automatic watches? If possible with many pictures and maybe even cross-references to the most common defects and error patterns.
    - Manuals/guidelines specific for certain movements?
    - What would be the easiest (i guess hand-wound) movement to start with, that is not so precious and with easy-to-obtain parts?
    - At the moment i just have standard tools to open case-backs, change straps, hold movements etc. Are there any recommendable and not too expensive "watchmaking starter-sets"?
    - I would be also interested in a seminar for absolute beginners. I am located in Bavaria/Germany. So if anybody has tried something in this direction, please let me know.

I really enjoy reading OF. Thanks for having me!

Have a nice weekend!

Olhenry56 likes this.
  2. Olhenry56 Apr 9, 2022

I'm looking forward to the answers you get. I've been wondering many of these questions, too. I have heard (from a YouTube channel I follow) that pocket watches are nice to start with because the movements are much larger, and you can find them for cheap.

MrFriday* likes this.