Forums Latest Members

Help: reputable sellers in the UK, or buy at auction?

1. Impgreene Jan 18, 2020

Hi All,

I'm a Newbie here, and to vintage watches (I own a modern Seamaster, and a modern IWC, but nothing vintage).

I am looking to buy a steel vintage Omega Seamaster Calibre 562 Vintage as a more classy formal watch (essentially as the one in the attached photo), but when I look at what is available online and then looks for the reviews of the sellers I get so lost in the world of possible disreputable sellers and possible fakes that my search grinds to a halt (happy to pay the true price, I just don't want to get ripped off!).

I wondered if anyone knew any reputable dealers that have proper offline premises (as well as an online presence) the UK (so that I can actually go and look at the watches, although I have to admit to not really knowing what I am looking at, hence why I need a reputable seller!)?

The alternative for me (living close to London) is that I simple wait for one to come up at a watch auction (e.g. Bonhams), so I wondered what people thought of this idea?

I am sure these questions have come up before, so if you have any links to previous discussions on the forum please do let me know.

Thanks for your help, it is very much appreciated.

s-l1600.jpg
  2. jsducote Jan 18, 2020

re: auctions - I set up alerts on the-saleroom and invaluable (auction aggregators) which send me emails from time to time. When I find a reference that I'm interested in, I "watch" a lot of lots and then they show up in my history. Then, when I feel like I've learned enough, seen examples of what comes to market (the good and the bad), I have a resource to refer back to. Alerts on watchrecon, watchpatrol, and mywatchmart will also help you keep tabs on what's moving and for how much.

Impgreene and DaveK like this.
  3. Impgreene Jan 18, 2020

Thanks 'jsducote', will try that for a while.

4. jsducote Jan 18, 2020