Forums Latest Members
  1. shah@123 Feb 12, 2020

Is this watch authentic - and is it worth 500 dollars

s-l1600 (1).jpg s-l1600 (2).jpg s-l1600 (5).jpg s-l1600.jpg
  2. watchyouwant ΩF Clairvoyant Feb 12, 2020

Look, this site is not an authentication service. You read on the Net about that watch and then come back with questions, you could not answer from your own research. Read and learn first. Kind regards. Achim

3. shah@123 Feb 12, 2020

Sorry about that. I was able to find the right kind in the Omega website but there were some dissimilarities.
    The same 565 caliber for the geneve model which has the calendar option - the time markers do not match . The watch in the photo has 166.040 while the website has 166.0041 - what is the significance.
    I am very new to this so sorry for my ignorance.

Walrus likes this.
  4. shah@123 Feb 12, 2020

Also i read about geneve models not being the best to buy - does that stand true for this years - should i just go for a sea master - thank you for all yiou rhelp

5. Walrus Feb 12, 2020

It’s ok sometimes people will kick in and talk about authenticity and price for you. I’m no expert but it’s an omega I don’t know enough about that model to comment on originality. I think 500 is on the high side for that model but many here know more than me they will probably pipe in. It’s good you asked here before your purchase it helps a lot of people

watchyouwant and shah@123 like this.
  6. gbesq Feb 12, 2020

B3D06631-031A-46EB-AECE-16191581A61C.jpeg
    Genèves can be very good watches, particularly those from the 1950s, when they were second only to the Constellation in Omega’s lineup. Above is a photo of my 1958 reference 2981. Omega positioned later model Genèves as entry level watches in its lineup. Generally, a vintage Seamaster in good condition will be of more interest to a collector than a late model Genève..

Spruce likes this.
  7. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Feb 12, 2020

What dollars?