Forums Latest Members
  1. vesnyder Nov 23, 2021

I am relatively new to the Omega scene and purchased a Triple Date Speedmaster. Now I am looking at the Speedmaster Racing and heard these lower costs watches referred to as "entry level" Omega's. What differentiates these entry level watches from the rest of the Omega line? I thought it might be the movement but the Speedmaster Racing has the co-axial movement? Thanks

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Nov 23, 2021

It’s probably more people making a big deal about some movements being more in-house than others, like the Speedmaster Triple-Date which is typically referred to the MK40 is an ETA based movement (ETA 7751), the Speedmaster racing has a co-axial escapement but is still based on an ETA movement that’s quite similar (ETA 7753) to the one you already have. By contrast the Omega 8500/9300 and the movements spawned from them over the last decade are considered in-house and are Omega specific, so a Seamaster Pro 300M with Cal 8900 is a bit more unique to Omega than the racing or MK40.

That said, the MK40 is an excellent watch known for reliability, accuracy and ease of maintenance so you’ve started off very well. The Speedmaster Racing is also a great watch, nothing wrong with it at all. It’s more perception and marketing than reality ultimately.

Kim, Duracuir1, pdxleaf and 3 others like this.
  3. Walrus Nov 23, 2021

Did omega used to be more welcoming to “entry level” with the cosmics and seamaster devilles and what not than they are today? That was a complaint a friend of mine had about modern omega and on its face it does seem to be true but I can’t say I know everything they are making today or price equivalence back in the day to speak intelligently on it. It may very well be I am missing something.

4. 8100_RPM Nov 23, 2021