Forums Latest Members

Check on Early Straight-Lug Polerouter Deluxe

1. kaapstadflaneur Dec 8, 2019

While checking out a local antique shop that usually has a few vintage watches in the case, I came upon the below UG Polerouter Deluxe Reference 10234-2 in rose gold. Gorgeous watch and felt great on the wrist, so I took some photos and did some research over the past few days to educate myself (I know a bit about Omegas, but not much about UGs). Apologies for the poor photos as the lighting in the shop was not optimal.

Serial number is 176xxxx, which puts it in the 1955-56 date range and the serial appears to be in the right range for the reference.

The dial looks good to my uneducated eye. Some spotting and crazing under a loupe, but not really noticeable on the wrist. I've looked at a couple dozen photos of other 10234-2s and the printing looks good to me, including the crosshairs, but I'm no expert. There is no UG shield applied logo under the 12 o'clock marker, but it seems like some of the earlier 12034-2s did not have the applied shield logo, at least from what I've seen online. The "Swiss" marking under the six o'clock dial marker is there, but it's partly obscured by the inner index ring.

The rose gold case looks like it's seen some polishing in the past and is a little soft compared to some others of the same reference.

I'm not sure about the crown. It is signed with a U pointed shield logo (rather overpolished) which I believe is correct for the period, but not 100% sure on the shape of the crown.

The shop owner showed me photos of the movement and caseback from a recent servicing/cleaning of the watch (I did not see the movement as he did not want to open up the case). Definitely an automatic bumper, which makes sense for this reference. Movement was clean and there was no indication of rub or discolored parts.

Welcome any thoughts/comments from the more experienced folks on the forum. Many thanks in advance.