Forums Latest Members

Buying omega tax free in Europe (Post brexit)

1. ortman Aug 6, 2022

Hi all. I’m a UK resident but visiting my family in france. Popped into my local Oméga boutique and was convinced to buy a piece. The sales representative said it’s great because I can get this tax free (12% off for Omega).

after reading online , It would seem that returning to the UK I would need to declare the goods )over my £390 allowance) and pay 20% VAT. This would mean I would pay considerably more upon my return to the Uk rather than buying it there.

hmrc are no help and have told me to look online.. Omega have no info and nothing online .

Any help/ experiences would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

OC

2. UKspeedy72 Aug 6, 2022

I would imagine that if you wore it home and posted yourself the paperwork it would be pretty hard to catch you. That would be illegal though, don’t do that, nobody does such things.

Dries, NotAClue and watchyouwant like this.
  3. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Aug 6, 2022

At these moments, I’d ask myself, “What would Boris Johnson do? “.

Dries, NotAClue, Peemacgee and 9 others like this.
  4. SoyuzPilot Aug 6, 2022

As I understand things, you'd have to use a tax free scheme that ensures you export the watch, in order to get tax-free, or the boutique needs to ship it to you in the UK. The schemes are just like the old days where you stand in line at the customs desk as you leave the country and have them stamp your form after seeing the goods. Things have moved on and are electronic now, at least with Global Blue, and a lot quicker at the airport and for receiving funds. They even have an app. But it does sit there on the various systems...

5. John Sheridan Aug 6, 2022

6. PandaSPUR Aug 6, 2022

That is how you get the tax charged by the store refunded to you, yep.
    But the OP's problem is declaring the purchase at his home country upon return.