Bought an Omega off of ebay...

Greetings. I'm totally new to the watch world, having never worn one. But the brother in law wanted a watch for graduation, so I started looking around. I got this off of ebay, and am wondering about it. Mostly what parts are original. Seems the crown and back are not original? I just want to know what to tell him when I give it to him, if he has any questions.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/176387384187

Additionally, I assume it is good to go, as the seller claims it was serviced, but any advice in that area would be appreciated.

Thank you to anyone who is willing to hold my hand a bit.

This website may earn commission from Ebay sales.
Yes the crown is a replacement.

What is your concern about the back.

BTW if you paid anywhere near the asking price you really paid too much.

Like 2
Did you read this pinned thread https://omegaforums.net/threads/learn-how-to-fish.52603/ ?

Hopefully you are in the EU or central Europe as the link seems to show the watch in in the Ukraine.

Nothing wrong with that, I got a nice watch once from Moldova.

Price seems to be a bit on the high side. This is a basic three hander from the 1940s.

Looks like a snap back. Those are harder to swap than a screw back.

Do you think it to be a Franken? If so why?

Never expect the watch to be serviced. Best to have your watchmaker check it out if possible and plan for a basic service. The giftee should also realize that these are special things and will need to establish a relationship with a watchmaker as well. That is how they were designed.

Like 1
Yes the crown is a replacement.

What is your concern about the back.

BTW if you paid anywhere near the asking price you really paid too much.
Hi,

I paid 1k, which seemed too much, but at some point I was sick of making low ball offers. I have no idea what he likes, but I did like the dial.

I am thinking I still paid like 300 too much? But again I have no idea what I'm doing.

Like 1