Forums Latest Members

Any OF Members also Tesla Owners?

1. jrhave2 Jan 20, 2020

I've been working on getting a new car for a few months, and have it narrowed down to a couple of choices. I'm struggling a bit and looking for some real-life experience from like minded individuals - such as yourselves! I appreciate art/design, craft and build quality; all of the things that attracted me to collecting watches. Right now I'm looking at either a BMW M550i X Drive, or a Tesla Model S. I'm in Finance, so it's not lost on me that the long-term decision to buy a Tesla makes more sense (for many reasons), but the visceral experience I get when driving the BMW with the twin turbo V8 is making it hard for me to pull the trigger on the Tesla. The build quality and intangibles of the BMW are also unarguably better than the Tesla. Any Tesla owners who took the plunge and never regretted it?

For me, this is not unlike my decision to recently buy either a '69 Navitimer 806, or the new 2020 version that was right next to it in the case. The watchmaker could not understand why I would want the 806, and did all he could to talk me out of it (warranty, shock proof, etc...). In the end, the new version just didn't feel the same, or elicit the same emotion. HELP!?!?

2. The Father Went out for smokes in ‘78 not seen since Jan 20, 2020

Drive a TESLA first.

the Telsa is fast. 60mph in 2.9 seconds

no vrooom though

charging infrastructure pretty much let’s you go anywhere now

Plugging it in at home every night and not spending $80-100 for gasoline

BMW is more pleasing to the eye

TESLA is kinda generic looking

my youngest kid had a 700hp Subaru. Racing a TESLA was always a challenge

PiaGodoy, Matty01 and larryganz like this.
  3. jrhave2 Jan 20, 2020