Forums Latest Members
  1. ClawHammer Mar 27, 2020

First post on this forum so "hello" to all on OF.

I need help with a vintage Speedmaster that I purchased 8 years ago from a local vintage watch shop. I'm no expert with watches and bought this off the back of buying a new Speedmaster and then wanting a birth year watch.

The watch didn't come with box or papers but I do know the serial number as the jeweller opened the back to show me before purchase and I noted this down. I did take images of the mechanism but they are so blurred that nothing can be made out in them and could literally be any watch. I have a decent image of the inside of the case cover though but I appreciate this only gives a very limited amount of information.

The watch came with it's original steel bracelet but I took this off the right away as I don't like steel bracelets but I also figured it would be best to keep this in good condition. I replaced with a new Omega leather rally strap which I think suits this watch much better.

I'd like to try and find out if all the parts are original and the exact age as far as possible. Please can you let me know what information/images are required in order to do this and whether or not I should purchase a tool to remove the case back myself to obtain good images or wait until after lockdown take to a jeweller to do this. I'd prefer to remove myself to allow me to take my time getting good images of the inside for future reference.

I'd also like advice on whether it's worth spending the money getting Certificate of Authenticity or an Extract From The Archives through Omega and what I should do with regards servicing the watch as I'm reluctant to have the original parts replaced.

Thanks in advance for your help.
    Regards,

CH
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    IMG_2410.jpeg
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Edited Mar 27, 2020
    red crowned and Passover like this.
  2. EdtheAussie Mar 27, 2020

Hey CH,