Forums Latest Members
  1. Arnie68 Jun 26, 2020

Hello to all of you. I am new to this forum, I am from The Netherlands and since last Saturday the proud owner of a new Speedmaster Moonwatch with hesalite and 1861 movement.
    Maybe this question is asked before but as I said I am a noob to both this forum and the Speedmaster, so my apologies for that.
    Of course I know it is a manual winding movement, but I can't really figure out how to wind it properly. At a certain point I feel more resistance when winding, and it feels like the crown wants to wind back. Should I wind even further then through the resistance or just stop winding like I did, because I don't want to break it.
    Yesterday my watch stopped running after just 14 hours.

Thank you in advance for your response.

Omegafanman likes this.
  2. rootbeer7 Jun 26, 2020

Keep going until you feel it won’t go further. You’ll know when it’s fully wound. They are buggers to wind up (as discussed many times), but all is forgiven once on the wrist.

83n likes this.
  3. Dor_42 Jun 26, 2020

Hello and welcome!
    Congrats on your new watch! I see that you posted both in Modern Omega Watches and in Open Discussion, please try to avoid doing that in the future - the mods will appreciate it.

Regarding your problem-
    Nothing about a watch should be done with applied force! If it's not winding smooth something might be causing it not to.
    Did you buy it brand new? Where did you buy it from? If it's new go back to where you purchased it and ask them to take a look.
    If you bought it online try locating an Omega AD and go see them.
    If the watch is pre owned maybe it's time for a service.

Also, make it a habit to remove it from your wrist while winding.
    It will put less stress on the mechanism and will lengthen the life of the movement.

4. Arnie68 Jun 26, 2020

Thank you for your advise.