Forums Latest Members

Will Omega restore factory case finish?

1. avidmark Sep 28, 2019

I have a Speedmaster that I would like cleaned up but don't want a service. Just want Omega to restore the factory finish to the case and bracelet. Does Omega do just that by itself?

2. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Sep 28, 2019

They will refinish the case for you. Please note this removes case material, so lugs will be thinner, etc. They do not add material and then finish to original dimensions.

3. avidmark Sep 28, 2019

Will it re-sharpen the lines? Also will they do just a refinish without doing a service?

4. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Sep 28, 2019

It would resharpen the lines. I can't answer the other part of your question. Was it recently serviced?

5. avidmark Sep 28, 2019

Just doesn't need service of the movement. Can I send it in for just a case refinish?

6. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Sep 28, 2019

Not sure they have ever offered just a case refinish. I believe they once offered a "re-seal" service, which was basically replacing all the parts on the case for water resistance, and that included refinishing...to refinish properly the pushers need to be removed so that side of the case can get a proper straight grain finish applied.

Best bet is to contact them, but my guess is no they won't just do a refinish.

7. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Sep 28, 2019

The Omega web site does not indicate any type of service that does not include a movement service. As Archer said, it would be best to contact them.

There are some watchmakers on OF who refinish cases, so there are some none-Omega options.

8. avidmark Sep 28, 2019

Ok. Thanks gents!

9. padders Oooo subtitles! Sep 28, 2019

Where in the world are you? If UK then Omega Authorised set up Swiss Time Services offer exactly this, and also laser welding to fill dents which would otherswise mean too much material is removed. If not UK, can't help you.

ps a good refinish won't be cheap.