Forums Latest Members

When a watch has patina and when it´s destroyed?

1. elara2105 Sep 29, 2020

Hello to all the members of the forum, some time ago I wanted to start this thread. It is important that you know that I am not an expert in watches, far from it, I am just a watch lover and especially of the Omega brand, since they were the watches that my father used.

This thread is created to find out the different opinions regarding whether a watch has patina or whether the watch should be restored. I have been part of this forum just three years ago, and I have seen posts about incredible watches, brands that I did not even know, real jewels and works of art of watchmaking.

However, many of these watches in my humble opinion are badly damaged, be it the dial, the bezel, the case or the bracelet, and they are watches that were designed to be worn on their owner's wrist, to make them smile every time. In most cases, the dial is the one that is most damaged, the color, number, design, etc. are no longer visible.

I hope you do not misunderstand me, surely there are people who make them smile to wear the watch that their grandfather or father used in the 40s, 50s or 60s, and that has some war scars, and that makes it different from the others, I do!, but that's just what I would like to know, your opinions, about where is the fine line between patina and a watch damaged by the passage of time.

I appreciate your attention to this thread, and I leave some photos of my watches, which have been overhauled in some way or another, for example: the moonwatch is from 1976, but because my dad kept it for a long time in an inappropriate place , the dial had to be changed, because it was damaged by moisture, the Mark 4.5 (1974) received a full service at Omega in Switzerland and I think it looks spectacular, the MarkII (1972) also received a full service in Omega and the Speedsonic (1975) a full service was performed and the case was refinished.